“2021 is a year of rebuilding” – CATS AGM A SUCCESS

Written by Lane Cove Cats

15 March 2021

After a shortened COVID year in 2020, Newly elected president Dan Hynes, noted his two priorities for 2021 were rebuilding the Lane Cove cats successful Auskick program and establishing a joint venture with North Ryde for our older junior teams. In general discussion it was noted “delegation” was added as a third priority. The presidents role in a club our size is both rewarding and a lot of effort so spreading the love around is crucial.

Auskick was impacted the most last year with a shortened season and concerns about social distancing around the coffee van. In 2021, a renewed focus will be placed on highlighting the many benefits of children participating in Auskick on Sunday mornings. It is noted in AFL circles that a successful junior club comes from a successful Auskick program, so this will surely be a priority for the Cats this year. In addition work has already commenced on a formal JV club between the Cats and North Ryde for age groups 13+. Watch out for more information on this as the year progresses on.

As for the other Executive positions. Tony Evers was unable to make the meeting so he was voted in unopposed as Vice President and junior boys co-ordinator. Greg Byrne was also voted in as the other VP and girls co-ordinator. Brendan Hood was voted in as Treasurer for another year. Brian Gillard is the clubs registrar. The Secretary position remains vacant.. (hint: if you are interested then please contact president@lanecovecats.com). There were others on the call who took up various roles. Mandy Davenport, Uniforms and Events, Jono Ladmore, communications, and Liam – Sponsorships!

The committee meetings are held during the season, no more than once a month down at the Diddy starting at 7:30pm. Feel free to register your interest even if its so you can come along and help with the direction of the club. We welcome supporters of all senior AFL clubs, although there is a special induction process for St Kilda supporters.

So in summary the Executive committee is:

President: Dan Hynes

VP1 & junior boys co-ordinator: Tony Evers

VP & junior girls co-ordinator: Greg Byrne

Treasurer: Brendan Hood

Registrar: Brian Gillard

You May Also Like…

%d bloggers like this: